Memory leak bug

Because we never learn...
User avatar
Mort
Alpha-Forum Whore
Alpha-Forum Whore
Posts: 4231
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:40 pm

Memory leak bug

Postby Mort » Sun Jan 12, 2014 4:18 pm

This is still causing me grief. So much so that I have just been sticking to 24/7 single map servers. Life gets a bit more boring, but I'm getting really good at those maps :)

Essentially, after playing on a server that changes maps, after a new map loads (not just a restart of same map) the memory consumption slowly increases to the point that there is no free memory and the machine starts paging like crazy. Frame rates start to lag just before it hits critical and when it kicks in rates drop to 1fps before the system effectively grinds to a halt and it takes minutes to do anything.

The only remedy is to quit the game and restart the computer when you notice the memory use climbing, or when the paging happens it's a tap of the reset button.

It has been suggested that it's an AMD related graphics card issue. The majority of people reporting it seem to be using AMD GPU's, but there have been some NVidia people as well which suggests there may be different issues with the same symptoms.

This seems to be the best support thread on the issue so far, although there are many all over the place:
http://answers.ea.com/t5/Battlefield-4/ ... -p/1951455

Suggested fixes and how they worked for me:
  • Disable DirectX 11.1 in the BF4 config - Still happens
  • Update Realtek network drivers - Tried several, still happens
  • Run 32bit version of BF4 - Still happens
  • Run in Win7 Compatibility mode - Still happens
  • Disable Network Data Usage Monitor - Still happens (sc config NDU start= disabled)

It seems waiting for Dice and AMD to sort out the issue is all I've got left...
Image

User avatar
KRaM
Clan Poet
Posts: 1436
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 7:04 am

Re: Memory leak bug

Postby KRaM » Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:43 am

Fingers crossed I haven't had this issue. EA have pushed back the release of the doc so they can address issues like this - sure a solution is days away <snigger>.

Keith
Image

User avatar
Mort
Alpha-Forum Whore
Alpha-Forum Whore
Posts: 4231
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:40 pm

Re: Memory leak bug

Postby Mort » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:46 am

Apparently it only seems to happen on 5xxx and 6xxx series cards. From memory you have a 7 series?
Image

User avatar
KRaM
Clan Poet
Posts: 1436
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 7:04 am

Re: Memory leak bug

Postby KRaM » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:05 pm

I have a Radeon HD 2GB - who knows how these things work?
Image

User avatar
KRaM
Clan Poet
Posts: 1436
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 7:04 am

Re: Memory leak bug

Postby KRaM » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:10 pm

Actually I could be forced to eat my snigger -

http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf4/fo ... 343296656/

-Fixed a memory leak issue occurring after level shutdowns, which could result in a out-of-memory crash in longer play sessions


Keith
Image

User avatar
KRaM
Clan Poet
Posts: 1436
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 7:04 am

Re: Memory leak bug

Postby KRaM » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:16 pm

Of course now you cant play after you install the patch because they are rolling the patch out - dont these people understand I am on holidays?

I am off to play the glorified spreadsheet that is HOMMVI.......

Keith
Image

User avatar
Mort
Alpha-Forum Whore
Alpha-Forum Whore
Posts: 4231
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:40 pm

Re: Memory leak bug

Postby Mort » Mon Jan 13, 2014 8:49 pm

KRaM wrote:I have a Radeon HD 2GB - who knows how these things work?

It's the number part of the model that's relevant.. yours is a 7xxx something or other.

And yes, new patch released, hopefully with the fix I need.
Image

User avatar
KRaM
Clan Poet
Posts: 1436
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 7:04 am

Re: Memory leak bug

Postby KRaM » Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:01 pm

nah its a 6900 - maybe close enough to 7000?
Image

User avatar
Mort
Alpha-Forum Whore
Alpha-Forum Whore
Posts: 4231
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:40 pm

Re: Memory leak bug

Postby Mort » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:08 pm

ah righto then. Well I just had four rounds and no crash. Normally it would bomb midway through the second map. Will need to play on some of the maps with the big mountains coz that's when I've always noticed it... but so far so good.
Image

User avatar
Mort
Alpha-Forum Whore
Alpha-Forum Whore
Posts: 4231
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:40 pm

Re: Memory leak bug

Postby Mort » Tue Jan 14, 2014 7:14 pm

No joy. Memory leak still happening. Maybe it's only for specific maps. It happens to me ALL THE TIME on Dragon Pass whenever I've played it. I don't think I've ever finished a full game on that map.
Image

User avatar
Mort
Alpha-Forum Whore
Alpha-Forum Whore
Posts: 4231
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:40 pm

Re: Memory leak bug

Postby Mort » Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:45 pm

Hmm, had a bunch of games with Keith last night without any crashing. Played some more today and it was crashing again. Grrrr

Oh well, just point whore it up on Locker for the double XP weekend instead.
Image


Return to “Battlefield 4”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests